1. 区域倡议

目前,亚太地区没有处理残疾人权利的区域条约。然而,该区域采取了各种举措,促进对残疾人人权的更大保护。

 

1992年4月,联合国亚洲及太平洋经济社会委员会("亚太经社会")宣布这一十年(1993-2002年)为「亚洲及太平洋残疾人十年」。在这个「十年」期间,在一个可能是世界上残疾人人口最多的区域,努力促进残疾人的人权。「十年」延长了两次(分别于2002年和2012年)。当前的「十年」从2013年持续到2022年。

 

1993-2002年的「十年」在2002年10月结束,当时亚太经社会通过了《比瓦科千年行动框架》,旨在建立一个包容、无障碍和基于权利的亚洲及太平洋社会(链接),承诺签署为亚洲及太平洋区域残疾人的充分参与和平等的宣言。《比瓦科框架》确定了七个优先行动领域。《比瓦科框架》明确纳入了发展目标及其相关目标,以确保与残疾人有关的关切成为不可或缺的实现目标。签署国承诺致力于在国家、次区域和区域各级制定有效的政策和方案(旨在系统地改善残疾人的条件并充分利用其全面发展潜力)。亚太残疾人发展中心("亚太残疾人中心")是泰国和日本政府联合设立的一个区域中心,也是「1993-2002年十年」的传奇之一。

 

2012年底,亚太经社会区域各国政府在民间社会组织和政府间组织代表的陪同下,聚集在大韩民国仁川,规划新的「2013-2022年十年」的走向。这次会议的一个重要成果是采用仁川战略,为亚洲及太平洋的残疾人「让权利实现」,为亚太地区(和世界)提供了第一套区域商定的包容残疾的发展目标。《仁川战略》能够监测亚太地区6.5亿残疾人(其中大多数生活在贫困中)的生活质量的改善和落实权利的情况。亚太经社会秘书处受命每三年报告一次,把其「2013-2022年十年」和仁川战略的进展情况报告。​​

此外,东南亚国家联盟(东盟)成员国在2011年通过了自己的次区域残疾政策框架,其形式是根据关于加强残疾人在东盟共同体的角色和参与的《巴厘宣言》。2011年至2020年已被視为东盟残疾人十年。

 
 

2. 签署国际条约

大多数亚洲国家签署了有关残疾人权利的主要国际条约。

虽然大多数亚洲国家(塔吉克斯坦除外)已经签署或批准了《残疾人权利公约》,但大多数亚洲国家(包括中国和印度)尚未签署《残疾人权利公约》的可选协议。

中国签署了《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》但並未实行而大多数亚洲国家都已签署及实行。

几乎所有的亚洲国家都实行了《经济、社会、文化权利国际公约》,但只有两个亚洲国家(哈萨克斯坦和蒙古)批准了《经济、社会、文化权利国际公约》的其《任择议定书》。

所有亚洲国家都批准了《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》但许多亚洲国家(包括中国和印度)都未签署其《任择议定书》。大部分亚洲国家都已批准《儿童权利公约》但许多亚洲国家(包括中国和印度)尚未签署其任择议定书。

3. 问责制措施

有几个机制可以追究亚洲国家对残疾人权利的责任:

  • 《残疾人权利公约》:缔约国必须在批准《残疾人权利公约》两年后(以及此后每四年一次)向《残疾人权利公约》委员会提交初次报告。然而,必须指出,《残疾人权利公约》委员会对未提交报告的缔约国没有执行权。

  • 东盟政府间人权委员会: 东盟人权中心应在追究责任方面发挥关键作用东盟国家.然而,它目前的任务是促进(非强制执行人权。没有权力接收、监督或调查投诉

联合国亚洲及太平洋经济社会委员会: 亚太经社会(作为本亚太经社会"2013-2022年学院"的一部分),预计将发挥监测作用。

 

4. 民间社会的主要行动者

  • 国际残疾人协会(DPI-AP):作为东盟残疾人论坛的召集人之一,新闻部-美联社是残疾人的跨残疾、自助、人权组织。总部设在曼谷,在新加坡和印度尼西亚设有国家级组织。

  • 亚太残疾问题发展中心:位於曼谷,该中心汇集了来自该区域不同地区的人,分享他们在与残疾有关的专门知识加强自助机构及推行社区康复服务等。

  • 东盟自闭症网络("网络"):该网络支持和加强与自闭症有关的家庭支助团体

  • 东盟残疾人准入大选网络("AGENDA"):作为国际选举制度基金会领导的联合体,AGENDA旨在改善东南亚地区残疾人的政治和选举生活。

  • CBR亚太网络:CBR亚太网络由World Halth Organization建立,旨在促进和加强整个社区康复本区域,并支持该网络在36个国家的成员。

  • 残疾和公共政策研究所("研究所"):该研究所是一个大学和非政府组织网络,促进了解东盟区域残疾人的公共政策。它提供研究研究金,开展政策研究,并开展公共教育和能力建设活动,以切实实现东盟区域包容性的愿景,无障碍和基于权利的(残疾人是决定自己命运的领导者)。

  • 阿比里斯基金会、拯救儿童组织、建立信任措施国际、国际残疾协会、海伦·凯勒基金会、伦纳德·柴郡残疾人国际、世界宣明会、国际残疾人组织、联合国儿童基金会和世卫组织为亚太地区的残疾运动

 

©2019 残疾权利资源网

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.

 

1. Regional initiatives 

There is currently no regional treaty in the Asia Pacific that addresses the rights of persons with disabilities. However, various initiatives have been taken in the region to promote greater protection of human rights for persons with disabilities.

In April 1992, the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (“ESCAP”) proclaimed the decade (1993-2002) the ‘Asian and Pacific Decade of Disabled Persons’. During this ‘decade’, efforts were made to promote the human rights of persons with disabilities in a region which probably has the largest number of the world’s population of persons with disabilities. The ‘decade’ was extended twice (in 2002 and 2012 respectively). The current ‘decade’ runs from 2013 to 2022.

At the conclusion of the ‘1993-2002 decade’ in October 2002, ESCAP adopted the Biwako Millennium Framework for Action towards an Inclusive, Barrier-free and Rights-based Society in Asia and the Pacific (link) whereby States committed to signing the Proclamation on the Full Participation and Equality of People with Disabilities in the Asian and Pacific Region. The Biwako Framework identifies seven areas for priority action. The Biwako Framework explicitly incorporates the millennium development goals and their relevant targets to ensure that concerns relating to persons with disabilities become an integral part of efforts to achieve those goals. Signatory States pledge their commitment to developing effective policies and programmes at national, sub-regional, and regional levels (aimed at systematically improving the conditions of persons with disabilities and harnessing their full development potential). The Asia-Pacific Development Center on Disability (“APCD”), a regional center jointly set up by the Thai and Japanese governments, is one of the legacies of the ‘1993-2002 decade’.

In late 2012, governments of the ESCAP region, joined by civil society organizations and representatives of intergovernmental organizations, gathered in Incheon, Republic of Korea to chart the course of the new ‘2013 – 2022 decade’. An important outcome of that meeting was the adoption of the Incheon Strategy to ‘Make the Right Real’ for Persons with Disabilities in Asia and the Pacific (link), which provides the Asia Pacific region (and the world) with the first set of regionally agreed disability-inclusive development goals. The Incheon Strategy enables monitoring of improvements in the quality of life and fulfilment of rights for the 650 million persons with disabilities in the Asia Pacific region (most of whom live in poverty). The ESCAP Secretariat is mandated to report every three years on progress in the implementation of the ‘2013 – 2022 decade’ and the Incheon Strategy until 2022.

Separately, States from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (“ASEAN”) have adopted their own sub-regional disability policy framework in 2011 in the form of Bali Declaration on the Enhancement of the Role and Participation of Persons with Disabilities in the ASEAN Community. The period 2011 to 2020 has been proclaimed the ASEAN Decade of Persons with Disabilities.

 
 

2. Ratification of international treaties 

Most Asian States have ratified the major international treaties that address the rights of persons with disabilities.

Whilst most Asian States (except Tajikstan) have signed or ratified the CRPD, most Asian States (including China and India) have not signed its Optional Protocol.

Except for China, which only signed the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (“ICCPR”), most Asian States have ratified the ICCPR.

Nearly all Asian States have ratified the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (“ICESCR”) but only two Asian States (Kazakhstan and Mongolia) have signed or ratified its Optional Protocol.

 

All Asian States have ratified the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (“CEDAW”) but many Asian States (including China and India) have not signed its Optional Protocol. Most Asian countries have ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child (“CRC”) but many Asian States (including China and India) have not signed its Optional Protocol.

3. Accountability measures 

There are several mechanisms whereby the Asian States may be held accountable regarding the rights of persons with disabilities:

  • The CRPD: States Parties are required to submit an initial report to the  CRPD Committee two years after ratifying the CRPD (and every four years subsequently). However, it is important to note that the CRPD Committee has no enforcement powers against States Parties that fail to submit reports.

  • The ASEAN Inter-governmental Commission on Human Rights (“AICHR”): the AICHR should play a  key role in holding accountable ASEAN States. However, its current mandate is to promote (not enforce) human rights. There is no authority to receive, oversee, or investigate complaints

 

The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (“ESCAP”): the ESCAP (as part of the current Asia Pacific ‘decade 2013-2022’), is expected to play a monitoring role.

 

4. Main civil society actors 

  • Disabled Peoples’ International Asia-Pacific (“DPI-AP”): as one of the convening organizations of the ASEAN Disability Forums, the DPI-AP is a cross-disability, self-help, human rights organization of persons with disabilities. Based in Bangkok, it has organizations at the national level in Singapore and Indonesia.

  • Asia-Pacific Development Centre on Disability (“Centre”): based in Bangkok, the Centre brings people together from different parts of the region to share their expertise in disability-related areas (such as strengthening self-help organizations and implementing community-based rehabilitation services).

  • ASEAN Autism Network (“Network”): the Network supports and strengthens autism-related family support groups

  • ASEAN General Election Network for Disability Access (“AGENDA”): as a consortium led by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems, AGENDA aims to improve access to political and electoral life for persons with disabilities throughout Southeast Asia.

  • CBR Asia-Pacific Network: the CBR Asia-Pacific Network was established by the World Health Organization to promote and strengthen community-based rehabilitation across the region and to support members of the Network in 36 countries.

  • Institute on Disability and Public Policy (“Institute”): the Institute is a network of universities and non-governmental organizations that promote the analyses and understanding of public policies for persons with disabilities in the ASEAN region. It offers study fellowships, conducts policy research, and undertakes public education and capacity-building activities to realize the vision of an ASEAN region that is inclusive, barrier-free, and rights-based (where persons with disabilities are leaders in the determination of their own destinies).

  • Abilis Foundation, Save the Children, CBM International, Handicap International, Helen Keller Foundation, Leonard Cheshire Disability International, World Vision, ADD International, UNICEF and WHO made important contributions to the disability movement in Asia-Pacific