©2019 残疾权利资源网

 

香港

本节介绍香港有关残疾权利的主要法例和政策, 并提及香港根据《残疾人权利公约》所承担的义务。

  1. 国际条约
     

  2. 本地法例
     

  3. 政府政策

 
  1. 国际条约

 

自2008年8月起, 中国已将《残疾人权利公约》扩展至香港。香港也是其他跟残疾人权利有关的人权条约的缔约国, 即《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》、《经济、社会、文化权利国际公约》和《禁止酷刑和其他残忍、不人道或有辱人格的待遇或处罚公约》 (《禁止酷刑公约》)。

 

就《残疾人权利公约》而言, 它的条约机构——残疾人权利委员会的第一个审议周期于2010年8月开始。 当时香港政府提交了缔约国报告。委员会一并审议了該報告与民间社会提交的材料。

 

2012年9月, 委员会发表了结论性意见。意见涉及广泛议题, 包括残疾人的定义、无障碍性、虐待事件、教育和政治参与。2012年12月17日, 立法委员会宪法事务委员会讨论了这些结论性意见以及政府对这些结论性意见的答复。

 

缔约国报告已于2018年9月提交。

 

《残疾人权利公约》名义上属于劳工和福利局的职权范围。根据缔约国的报告, 向劳工和福利局局长报告的康复专员被指定为政府内处理《残疾人权利公约》事项的协调人。然而, 制定和执行与残疾人士有关的政策的责任在几个局之间仍然分散。例如, 虽然《宪法》和内地事务局负责一般人权事务, 但教育局负责监督全纳教育, 劳动福利局负责社会福利和复健, 食品卫生局的任务是提供保健服务。

 
 

2. 国内立法

a. 禁止歧视的立法

1995年制定的《残疾歧视条例》 (第487章) 是有关残疾权利的重要法例。《残疾歧视法》以1992年《澳大利亚联邦残疾歧视法》为蓝本, 禁止以残疾为由的直接和间接歧视、骚扰和诽谤。除一些例外情况外, 《残疾歧视条例》适用于私营和公营部门。平等机会委员会 (平机会) 是一个独立的法定机构, 旨在执行反歧视条例。

 

平机会自一九九六年成立以来, 已根据《残疾歧视条例》提出55项法律行动。以《残疾歧视条例》裁定的主要个案如下。

 

K & Ors v Secretary for Justice (DCEO 3, 4 and 7/1999) District Court 

政府拒绝有精神病史的近亲的求职者的政策被认为是带有歧视性的。法院认为, 政府有义务进行个人评估, 以确定申请人是否对安全构成真正的风险。

 

M v Secretary for Justice (CACV 265/2007) Court of Appeal 

 

在澳大利亚高等法院审理 Purvis 案之后, 上诉法院认为, 在确立直接歧视时有两个步骤。首先, 申诉人必须显示, 与没有相关残疾的人的行为相比, 申诉人受到的待遇相对不太有利。其次, 法院需要决定申诉人的残疾是否其导致受到不太有利待遇的原因之一。案件没有必要表明被告知道残疾情况, 也没有必要表明被告有意识地歧视申诉人。

 

Law Chi Yuen v Secretary for Education (HCAL 91/2011) Court of First Instance 

政府以「英语为母语的英语教师计划」为主流学校提供资金, 但不包括智力残疾学生的特殊学校。法院认为, 这一决定构成直接歧视。

 

《残疾歧视条例》自颁布以来, 没有发生重大变化, 民间社会和学者日渐指出《残疾歧视条例》在保护残疾人权利方面的局限性。Carole Petersen 认为, 《残疾歧视条例》中对残疾的定义反映了医疗模式, 及「按理说不符合《残疾人权利公约》采用的社会模式」。她指出, 目前基于直接和间接歧视的经典概念的 「歧视」定义需要重新考虑。在全納教育方面, Kelley Loper 认为, 这一歧视定义没有达到确保全納教育和《残疾人权利公约》规定的实质性平等所需的保护。

 

平机会也受到一些限制。Puja Kapai 发现, 平机会的「以和解為第一方法」模式、其为诉讼只能提供有限资金的能力及其有限职权范围是限制平机会实现社会变革的能力的问题。

 

2016年3月, 平机会发表了《歧视法评论报告》。作为报告中给予更高优先考虑的领域, 平机会建议政府修订《残疾歧视条例》, 规定有责任提供合理便利, 并禁止在投票和参选方面的歧视。它还建议作出一些改革, 赋予平机会作为歧视受害者的代言人的权力。政府尚未表明他们接受哪些建议。

 

除《残疾歧视条例》外, 《香港基本法》第二十五条和《香港人权法案》第二十二条载有一般的平等宪法权利 (后者与《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》第二十六条相对应)。申请人在法律志源成功地辩称, 这是一个补充理由。然而, 宪法权利不属于平机会的管辖范围。

 

b. 与残疾人士有关的其他立法

 

《精神健康条例》 (第136章) 载有有关精神残疾人士的重要条文。首先, 法院有权决定一个人是否精神上无行为能力 (英: mentally incapacitated) 。精神上无行为能力的人的财产和事务须服从法院的命令。这些人士亦丧失投票资格或参选资格 (例如见《立法会条例》 (第542章) 第53条)。

 

第二, 《精神健康条例》授权法官下令在精神病院强制拘留和治疗一个人。下达命令的主要要求是两名注册医生的意见。張天目认为, 这种强制处理制度违宪, 因为它不成比例地限制了人身自由和安全权 (《基本法》第28条和《香港人权法案》第5条)。她还注意到《残疾人权利公约》在这一问题上的相关性。

第三, 《精神健康条例》设立监护委员会, 可作出监护令。这些命令可赋予监护人广泛的权力范围, 包括要求精神上无行为能力的人居住在某一特定地点的权力, 以及同意代表无行为能力的人接受治疗的权力。

《最低工资条例》 (第608章) 为所有雇员规定了法定最低工资。但是, 残疾雇员可以选择对生产力进行评估。如果评估显示生产率低于 100%, 最低工资可以免除。

庇护工场並不在《最低工资条例》的范围之内。政府认为这些讲习班是职业培训的形式, 不将参与者视为雇员。

3. 政府政策

各局制定了与残疾人有关的政策。下面列出了一些主要政策。

 

a. 公共福利金

公共福利金计划是一项非法定计划,为严重残疾人士提供金钱支援。

b. 全纳教育

教育局的政策是尽可能将有特殊教育需要的学生安置在主流学校。根据教育局的運作手冊, 政府向主流学校提供支持, 以实现综合教育, 例如通过「学习支持津贴」。

 

c. 公共无障碍房舍的无障碍环境

平机会於2010年发布了关于公共场所无障碍环境的正式调查报告。调查以建筑署的《设计手册:无障碍通道2008》为基准, 覆盖了60个拥有多个公共实体的目标场所。报告就改善无障碍环境提出了许多建议。

对此, 政府启动了一项涵盖3500套政府房地的重大改造计划。该方案于2014年完成。政府还实施了便利协调员和办公室制度。

d. 涉及儿童和精神残疾者的性犯罪问题咨询文件

法律改革委员会正在审查涉及儿童和精神障碍者的性犯罪。关于后者, 委员会建议采取一系列性别中立的新罪行, 以提供更好的保护。

e. 香港航空公司营办商指引: 为航空旅行中行动不便人士提供便利

《香港航空公司营办商指引》由航空部发布, 当中提出了一系列不具约束力的建议, 以方便行动不便者的航空旅行。

Hong Kong

This section introduces the main legislations and policies in Hong Kong regarding disability rights. It makes reference to Hong Kong’s obligations under the CRPD.
 

  1. International Treaties
     

  2. Domestic legislation
     

  3. Government policies

 

1. International treaties 

China extended the CRPD to Hong Kong in August 2008. Hong Kong is also a party to other human rights treaties which touch upon the rights of persons with disabilities including the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (“ICCPR”), International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (“ICESCR)”, and Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (“CAT”).

The first review cycle for Hong Kong by the CRPD Committee commenced in August 2010 when the Hong Kong government submitted its State Party report (“Initial State Party Report”). The Initial State Party Report was considered together with civil society submissions by the CRPD Committee.

IIn September 2012, the CRPD Committee issued its Concluding Observations which covered a wide range of issues including the definition of persons with disabilities, accessibility, incidents of abuse, education, and political participation. The Concluding Observations, and the government’s response to them, were discussed by the Legislative Council’s Panel on Constitutional Affairs on 17 December 2012.

The following State Party report was submitted in September 2018.

The nominal handling of Hong Kong’s obligations under the CRPD falls under the remit of the Labour and Welfare Bureau. According to the Initial State Party Report, the Commissioner of Rehabilitation, who reports to the Secretary for Labour and Welfare, is designated as the focal point within the government for handling CRPD matters. However, the responsibility for the formulation and implementation of disability-related policies remains fragmented between several administrative bureaus. For instance, while the Constitution and Mainland Affairs Bureau is responsible for general human rights matters, the Education Bureau oversees inclusive education, the Labour and Welfare Bureau is responsible for social welfare and rehabilitation, and the Food and Health Bureau is tasked with provision of health care.

 
 

2. Domestic legislation

a. Legislation against discrimination 

The Disability Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 487) (“DDO”), enacted in 1995, is the key legislation on disability rights in Hong Kong. Modelled after The Australian Commonwealth Disability Discrimination Act 1992, the DDO outlaws direct and indirect discrimination, harassment, and vilification on the ground of disability. With some exceptions, the DDO applies to both private and public sectors. The Equal Opportunities Commission (“EOC”), an independent statutory body, is established to implement the anti-discrimination ordinances (including the DDO).

Since its creation, the EOC has provided legal assistance in bringing legal actions under the DDO. A selection of major cases decided under the DDO is set out as follows:

K & Ors v Secretary for Justice (DCEO 3, 4 and 7/1999) District Court 

The government’s policy of rejecting job applicants with a close relative that had a history of mental illness was found to be discriminatory. The Court held that the government has a duty to conduct an individual assessment to determine whether an applicant poses a real risk to safety.

M v Secretary for Justice (CACV 265/2007) Court of Appeal 

Following the case of Purvisi at the High Court of, the Court of Appeal held there were two steps in establishing direct discrimination. First, it must be shown that the complainant was treated less favourably compared to a person behaving in the same manner without the relevant disability. Second, the impairment must be one of the reasons for less favourable treatment. It was not necessary to show that the government had knowledge of the disability, or had consciously discriminated against the complainant.

 

Law Chi Yuen v Secretary for Education (HCAL 91/2011) Court of First Instance 

The government provided funding under the Native-speaking English Teacher Scheme for mainstream schools, but excluded special schools for students with intellectual disabilities. The Court found that this decision amounted to direct discrimination.

No major changes have been made to the DDO since its enactment, and civil society and academics have increasingly pointed out the limitations of the DDO in the protection of disability rights. Professor Carole Petersen has suggested that the definition of disability in the DDO reflects the medical model, and “is arguably inconsistent with the social model adopted in the CRPD”. She noted that the definition of “discrimination”, currently based on classic notions of direct and indirect discrimination, needs reconsideration. In the area of inclusive education, Professor Kelley Loper found that this definition of discrimination falls short of the protection needed to ensure inclusive education and substantive equality under the CRPD.

As an institution, the EOC also suffers from a number of limitations. Professor Puja Kapai found that the EOC’s conciliation-first model, small capacity to fund litigation, and restricted mandate limited its ability to bring about social change.

In March 2016, the EOC published its Reports on the Discrimination Law Review. It recommended, as an area of high priority, that the government amend the DDO by introducing a duty to make reasonable accommodation and a prohibition on discrimination in voting and standing for elections. It also suggested changes that would empower the EOC as an advocate for victims of discrimination. The government yet to indicate which recommendations they accept.

In addition to the DDO, there is a general constitutional right to equality contained in Article 25 of the Hong Kong Basic Law and Article 22 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (Cap. 383) (the latter corresponds to Article 26 of the ICCPR). This was successfully argued as a supplementary ground by the applicants in Law Chi Yuen. However, constitutional rights are outside of the jurisdiction of the EOC.

 

b. Other legislation relating to persons with disabilities

The Mental Health Ordinance (Cap. 136) (“MHO") contains important provisions on persons with mental impairments.

First, the Court has the power to decide whether a person is mentally incapacitated. The property and affairs of a mentally incapacitated person are subject to orders by the Court. Further, such persons are disqualified from voting or standing for elections (see for example s. 53 of the Legislative Council Ordinance (Cap. 542)).

Second, the MHO authorizes the Court to grant orders for compulsory detention and treatment of a person in a mental hospital. The main requirement for an order to be granted is the opinion of two registered medical practitioners. Professor Daisy Cheung has argued that compulsory treatment is unconstitutional as it disproportionately restricts the right of liberty and security of person (Article 28 of the Basic Law and Article 5 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights). She also noted the relevance of the CRPD on this issue.

Third, the MHO establishes the Guardianship Board, which may make guardianship orders. These orders may confer a wide ambit of powers upon guardians, including the power to require the mentally incapacitated person to reside in a specific place, and to consent to medical treatment on behalf of the incapacitated person.

The Minimum Wage Ordinance (Cap. 608) establishes a statutory minimum wage for all employees. However, employees with disabilities may opt for an assessment of productivity. The minimum wage can be exempted if the assessment shows the degree of productivity is less than 100%.

Sheltered workshops are not covered under the Minimum Wage Ordinance. The government considers these workshops forms of vocational training and do not treat the participants as employees.

3. Government policy

Various bureaus have made policies relating to persons with disabilities. Some of the major policies are listed below:

a. Social Security Allowance 

 

The Social Security Allowance Scheme is a non-statutory program that provides monetary support for persons with severe disabilities.

b. Integrated education 

The Education Bureau has a policy of placing students with special education needs in mainstream schools as far as possible. Underpinned by the Operation Guide, the government provides support to mainstream schools to enable integrated education (i.e. through Learning Support Grants).

c. Accessibility in Publicly Accessible Premises 

In 2010, the EOC released its formal investigation report on accessibility in publicly accessible premises (“Investigation Report”). Using the Building Department’s Design Manual Barrier Free Access 2008 as a benchmark, the investigation covered 60 target premises owned various public entities. The Investigation Report made many recommendations on improving accessibility.

In response, the government embarked on a major retrofitting program covering 3500 government premises. The program was completed in 2014. The government also implemented a system of Access Co-ordinators and Offices.

d. Consultation Paper on Sexual Offences Involving Children and Persons with Mental Impairment 

 

The Law Reform Commission is reviewing sexual offences involving children and persons with mental impairments. With regards to the latter, a range of new gender-neutral offences were recommended to provide better protection to such individuals.

e. Guidance for Airline Operators in Hong Kong: Facilitation of Persons with Reduced Mobility in Air Travel (“Guidance”)

Issued by the Civil Aviation Department, the Guidance sets out a series of non-binding recommendations to facilitate air travel for persons with reduced mobility.

 

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.