1. 《美国人权公约》

 

1988年《美洲经济、社会、文化权利领域人权公约附加议定书》("圣萨尔瓦多议定书")第18条规定,残疾人有权得到特别关注,令他们实现最大可能的发展。根据第18条,缔约国同意开展旨在向残疾人提供必要资源以最大限度地发展其个性的方案。缔约国还同意向残疾人家属提供特别培训。圣萨尔瓦多议定书的案文可在此查阅。

 
 

2. 《美洲消除对残疾人一切形式歧视公约》

美洲国家组织大会于1999年通过了《美洲消除对残疾人一切形式歧视公约》,于2001年生效。它分为四个部分:

 

(1) 关于防止和消除歧视和使残疾人融入社会的目标;

(2) 缔约国的义务;

(3) 歧视和残疾的定义;和

(4) 执行机制。

《美洲消除对残疾人一切形式歧视公约》的案文可在此查阅。

3. 美洲人权委员会

美洲委员会的使命可见于《美洲国家组织宪章》和《美洲人权公约》中。其主要职能是促进对人权的遵守和保护人权,并作为美洲国家组织在这些事项上的协商机构。美洲委员会由七名独立成员,以个人身份任职组成。美洲委员会的工作包括:

  1. 个人请愿制度 -- -- 处理任何会员国承认的个人、个人团体和非政府组织就指称违反任何区域人权条约提出的申诉(包括《美洲人权利和义务宣言》和《美洲消除对残疾人一切形式歧视公约》;

  2. 监测会员国的人权状况;和

  3. 与优先专题领域有关的工作——这种工作包括设立专题报告员职位,以促进和保护整个区域弱势群体的权利(然而, 截至2019年6月,在个人权利方面,报告员职位尚未建立)。

美洲委员会在各种场合处理了与残疾人权利有关的问题。它承认会员国内部侵犯这些权利,包括不承认残疾人的法律行为能力,缺乏有利于残疾人融入社区的社区服务,短时间或未经同意而将残疾人长期收容、缺乏健康、居住和康复服务、无法接触自然环境、交通以及信息和通信、难以进入司法、就业和教育方面缺乏合理便利,政治参与有限。

美洲委员会敦促会员国采取必要的立法、行政或其他措施,确保根据国际标准有效保护残疾人的人权。提供最大的保护。根据《残疾人权利公约》第3(1)条,这些措施包括但不限于逐步消除歧视和促进政府当局和(或)私人实体在提供或提供货物、服务方面融入社会的措施,设施、项目和活动,如就业、交通、通信、住房、娱乐、教育、体育、执法和司法以及政治和行政活动。这项工作应在残疾人作为行动者参与其生活时进行,并考虑到社会处理残疾问题的主要指导原则,例如残疾人的自主和独立,不歧视、机会平等、无障碍、充分和有效地参与和融入社会。

 

4. 美洲人权法院
 

美洲人权联盟是美洲人权系统的司法机构。它具有争议和咨询职能。美洲人权中心的争议性职能允许它审理个人或会员国根据《美洲人权公约》("亚洲人权公约")对另一个会员国提出的侵犯人权的指控。ACtHR 可以作出决定, 并采取保护措施,及发布对案件的判决。但是,只有在会员国同意《人权与人权与人权》对此类案件作出裁决的情况下,它才能这样做。在这方面,美洲人权中心的任务比美洲委员会的任务更为有限,因为美洲人权中心对已批准《美洲人权公约》并特别接受《美洲人权公约》争议性的美洲人权中心成员国拥有有争议的管辖权。如果成员国尚未接受美洲人权联盟的争议管辖权,则只能将案件提交美洲委员会。尽管如此,所有OSA成员国都可以利用人权事务秘书处的咨询职能,就相关区域人权文书的解释和适用要求提供指导。
 

美洲委员会的决定可在其网站上查阅

 

©2019 残疾权利资源网

1. The American Convention on Human Rights 

Article 18 of the 1988 Additional Protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights in the Area of Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (“Protocol of San Salvador”) states that persons with disabilities are entitled to special attention to achieve the greatest possible development of their personality. Pursuant to Article 18, States Parties agree to undertake programs aimed at providing persons with disabilities with resources needed to attain the greatest possible development of their personality. States Parties also agree to provide special training to the families of the persons with handicaps. The text of the Protocol of San Salvador is accessible here.

 
 

2. The Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Persons with Disabilities 

The Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Persons with Disabilities was adopted by the General Assembly of the Organization of America States in 1999 and entered into force in 2001. It is divided into four parts:

  1. objectives concerning the prevention and elimination of discrimination and integration of persons with disabilities into society;

  2. obligations by States parties;

  3. definitions of discrimination and disability; and

  4. implementation mechanisms.

The text of the Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Persons with Disabilities is accessible here.

 3. Inter-American Commission on Human Rights 

The mandate of the Inter-American Commission  is found in the Charter of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) and the American Convention on Human Rights (“ACHR”). Its main function is to promote the observance and protection of human rights and serve as a consultative organ of the OAS in these matters. The Inter-American Commission is composed of seven independent members who serve in a personal capacity. The work of the Inter-American Commission includes:

  1. The individual petition system - this deals with complaints submitted by individuals, groups of individuals, and non-governmental organizations recognized in any Member State regarding alleged violations of any of the regional human rights treaties (including the American Declaration on the Rights and Duties of Man and Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Persons with Disabilities);

  2. Monitoring of the human rights situations in the Members States; and

  3. Work related to priority thematic areas – such work include creating thematic rapporteurships in order to promote and protect the rights of vulnerable groups throughout the region (however, no rapporteurship has been established in relation to rights of persons with disabilities as at June 2019).

The Inter-American Commission has addressed issues related to rights of persons with disabilities on various occasions. It recognizes violations of such rights within Members States, including the failure to recognize the legal capacity of persons with disabilities, shortage of community services conducive to the integration of persons with disabilities into the community, short or long-term institutionalization of persons with disabilities without consent, lack of health, habitation, and rehabilitation services, inaccessibility of the physical environment, transportation, and information and communications, obstacles to access to justice, lack of reasonable accommodation in employment and education, and limited political participation.

The Inter-American Commission has urged Member States to adopt legislative, administrative, or other measures necessary to ensure the effective protection of human rights of persons with disabilities, in accordance with the international standards that provide the most protection. Under Article 3(1) of the CRPD, such measures shall include, but not be limited to measures to eliminate discrimination gradually and to promote integration by government authorities and/or private entities in providing or making available goods, services, facilities, programs, and activities such as employment, transportation, communications, housing, recreation, education, sports, law enforcement and administration of justice, and political and administrative activities. This should be carried out with the participation of persons with disabilities as actors in their own lives, and taking into account the main guiding principles of the social approach to disability, such as the autonomy and independence of persons with disabilities, non-discrimination, equality of opportunity, accessibility, and full and effective participation and inclusion in society.

 

4. Inter-American Court of Human Rights (“ACtHR”)

The ACtHR is the judicial organ of the Inter-American human rights system. It has both contentious and advisory functions. The ACtHR’s contentious function allows it to hear cases brought by individuals or a Member State against another Member State for alleged violations of human rights under the American Convention of Human Rights (“ACHR”). The ACtHR may make decisions, take protective measures, and issue sentences on cases. However, it can only do so in cases where the Member State has agreed for the ACtHR to rule on such cases. In this regard, the mandate of the ACtHR is more limited than that of the Inter-American Commission because the ACtHR  has contentious jurisdiction over OAS Members States which have ratified the ACHR and specifically accepted the ACtHR’s contentious jurisdiction only. Where a Member State has not accepted the ACtHR’s contentious jurisdiction, the case can only be brought before the Inter-American Commission. Nonetheless, all OSA Members States can access the ACtHR’s advisory function and request for guidance on the interpretation and application of the relevant regional human rights instruments.

 

Decisions of the Inter-American Commission are accessible at their website.

 

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.