根据联合国统计,中国有近8300万男女,占人口的6.3%。这人口中略多于一半(52%)是男性,48%是女性。超过3200万人处于工作年龄。大多数残疾人(75%)生活於农村地区。贫困是一個普遍存在的现象。根据2005年的一项研究,在农村地区裡近1400万残疾人士生活在贫困之中,包括残疾人在内的家庭人均收入不到其他家庭平均水平的一半。

 

根据报道,15岁以上的残疾人士中约有43%是文盲。6至14岁的残疾儿童入学人数不到三分之二 (63%)。大约85%生活在贫困的残疾人士从未得到中学教育。因此,他们的资历相对较低,生产技能也较差。在 2006年,城市地区的残疾人士的年平均就业率为76%,农村地区为79%,而非残疾人的就业率为90%以上。

  1. 签署国际条约
     

  2. 宪法和国内法律和政策
     

  3. 教育
     

  4. 就业
     

  5. 康复 
     

  6. 无障碍
     

  7. 法律行为能力 

 

1. 加入国际条约

中国批准了大多数主要国际条约,如《残疾人权利公约》、《经济、社会、文化权利国际公约》、《消除对妇女歧视公约》和《儿童权利公约》("CRC"),尽管它没有签署或批准上述条约的任何任择议定书。此外,中国已经签署但没有批准《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》(《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》)。

 
 

2. 宪法和国内法律和政策

1982年颁布、1988年、1993年、1999年和2004年修订的《中华人民共和国宪法》(以下简称《中华人民共和国宪法》),为残疾人。第45条规定:

「中华人民共和国公民在年老、疾病或者丧失劳动能力的情况下,有从国家和社会获得物质帮助的权利。国家发展为公民享受这些权利所需要的社会保险、社会救济和医疗卫生事业。

 

国家和社会保障残废军人的生活,抚恤烈士家属,优待军人家属。国家和社会帮助安排盲、聋、哑和其他有残疾的公民的劳动、生活和教育。」

 

除中国宪法外,中国政府还通过并实施了一系列有关残疾人(包括受教育权、生产性和体面工作权)。

1991年颁布、2008年修订的《残疾人保障法》是中国保障残疾人权利的重要法律。法律包含 54 篇文章和 9 章(涉及康复、教育、就业、文化生活、福利、入学和法律责任) 。该法修正案增加了关于稳定财政支助、改善残疾人医疗和康复以及有利的就业和税收措施的细节。

《残疾人法》第3条载有一项与反歧视有关的原则,认为:

「殘疾人在政治、經濟、文化、社會和家庭生活等方面享有同其他公民平等的權利。

    殘疾人的公民權利和人格尊嚴受法律保護。

    禁止基於殘疾的歧視。禁止侮辱、侵害殘疾人。禁止通過大眾傳播媒介或者其他方式貶低損害殘疾人人格。」

 

第49至52条建立了与残疾有关的法律(民事、刑事和行政)的执行机制,并列出了违法的权利、侵权行为和后果。

《残疾人法》对"残疾"作出定义,并在中国大多数与残疾人有关的国内法律和政策中获得通过。残疾人被称为「殘疾人是指在心理、生理、人體結構上,某種組織、功能喪失或者不正常,全部或者部分喪失以正常方式從事某種活動能力的人。

 

殘疾人包括視力殘疾、聽力殘疾、言語殘疾、肢體殘疾、智力殘疾、精神殘疾、多重殘疾和其他殘疾的人。」

"残疾人"一词是指有视觉、听力、言语或身体残疾、智力迟钝、精神障碍、多重残疾和/或其他残疾的人。

3. 教育

 

《义务教育法》规定,每个儿童都有权接受九年免费公共教育(即小学六年和中学三年)。然而,对于残疾人来说,中国的教育体系远非包容性。相反,残疾人教育的形式是普通学校和(或)特殊学校实行隔离教育。

 

 与残疾人教育有关的主要法律是《残疾人教育条例》(1994年,2013年修订)("条例"),该条例旨在确保残疾人受教育的权利。《条例》旨在发展残疾人教育项目。

 

虽然2013年对《条例》的修正案包含积极因素(例如要求主流学校为残疾学生制定个性化教育计划),但人权观察批评修正案没有要求提供合理的住宿(从而加强平行的隔离特殊教育学校制度,未能消除残疾儿童在普通学校上学的障碍)。

 

此处提及的立法和条例可在"包容性教育"下的国内法律资源部分查阅

 

4. 就业

根据国际劳工组织(ILO)的一份概况介绍,城乡残疾人就业率面积从1987年的不到50%上升到2008年的80%。然而,残疾人在实现工作权方面仍然存在挑战。这些挑战包括:

  • 社会上由于对残疾的陈规定型观念而产生的偏见和歧视

  • 缩小残疾人与其他人的生活条件差距

  • 贫困

  • 缺乏获得就业、教育、职业培训和社会保障的机会

  • 与其他人相比,残疾人的教育和技能较低

  • 就业质量低,包括工资水平和工作条件

  • 就业机会短缺

  • 协助残疾人士就业的就业服务不足

  • 社会保障制度不发达(包括财政支持不足)

  • 一些法律文书的可执行性薄弱

目前有关残疾人就业的法律包括:

  • 《 残疾人就业规则》(2007年)禁止对残疾人的歧视,并鼓励社会团体和个人通过各种手段支持残疾人就业。

  • 《 就业促进法》(2007年)载有一项与残疾人有关的反歧视条款。

  • 《第十二个五年国家残疾方案(2011-2015年)》的主要目标之一是在今后五年内为残疾人创造100万个就业机会。

  • 中国政府还建立了配额制度,要求所有公共和私营雇主为残疾人保留不少于1.5%的就业机会。 省级主管部门规定了具体配额级别,这些配额级别可能因省而异)。

 

值得注意的是,作为体面工作国家方案的一部分,中国也得到了国际劳工组织的支持,以满足劳动力市场中最弱势者(包括残疾人)的需要,并促进工人权利、基本原则和劳工权利。国际劳工组织与中国的上一个体面工作国家方案于2013-2015年执行。

 

5. 康复 

康复在政府政策和方案中占有重要地位,并被列入国家和社会发展方案。康复方案旨在将残疾人纳入社会主流并促进其参与。

与心理健康和康复有关的法律包括:

  • 《 康复医学教育计划》(1992年),其中载有关于康复医生和治疗师、物理治疗师和职业治疗师的培训和教育条例。

  • 《 假肢师和矫形师资格制度暂行条例》(1997年),旨在改进假肢、辅助器具、轮椅和手的制作,同时注重标准化生产。

  • 《 精神卫生法》(2012年)规范了精神保健服务,要求综合医院设立专门的门诊诊所或提供咨询,并要求培训更多的医生。其目的是防止个人被非自愿地关押在精神病院和治疗。

 

6. 无障碍

2008年修订的《中国残疾人保障法》共7条,要求全社会采取措施建设无障碍设施,促进无障碍信息交流,使残疾人「平等地充分參與社會生活」。

2012年的《无障碍环境建设条例》要求地方政府建设各种公共设施(包括所有城市、新建、改建和扩建道路、公共建筑、公共交通设施、住宅建筑;居住社区),以容纳残疾人。《无障碍环境条例》旨在创造无障碍和无障碍环境,保障残疾人和社会其他成员能够平等参与社会生活(第1条)。

"无障碍环境建设"是指为残疾人进入道路、建筑物出入口、公共交通、信息交流和社区服务而开展的建筑活动。独立和安全的方式(第2条)。

对于已经建成的不符合标准的工程和农村,《无障碍环境条例》规定,标准必须"逐步达到无障碍设施工程建设标准"(第九条)。《无障碍环境条例》第14条还要求城市的大中型公共场所的公共停车场和大型居住区的停车场,应当按照无障碍设施工程建设标准设置并标明无障碍停车位。无障碍停车位为肢体残疾人驾驶或者乘坐的机动车专用。

 

第20, 21, 24条分別要求

  • 国家举办的升学考试、职业资格考试和任职考试,有视力残疾人参加的,应当为视力残疾人提供盲文试卷、电子试卷,或者由工作人员予以协助。

  • 设区的市级以上人民政府设立的电视台应当创造条件,在播出电视节目时配备字幕,每周播放至少一次配播手语的新闻节目。

  • 公开出版发行的影视类录像制品应当配备字幕。

  • 公共服务机构和公共场所应当创造条件为残疾人提供语音和文字提示、手语、盲文等信息交流服务,并对工作人员进行无障碍服务技能培训。

 

本文提及的立法和条例可在"合理便利"下的国内法律资源部分查阅。

 

7. 法律行为能力

在中国,承认法律行为能力等同于精神能力评估(从而允许残疾成为剥夺或剥夺其法律行为能力的依据)。相关法律根据个人的心理状况加以区分,并具有歧视性,因为他们认为精神残疾者没有能力行使其法律行为能力。同样,在实践中,精神残疾者能否认识到自己的行为,往往受到医学评估(即根据精神能力评估)。 监护制度将残疾人置于替代决策制度之下。因此,残疾人无法根据自己的意愿和偏好作出有关自己的决定。

2013年生效的《精神卫生法》被视为试图防止非自愿治疗和增加精神残疾者的参与。在某种程度上,这项立法限制了监护人的权力(即监护人无权限制精神残疾者的个人自由)。换言之,监护人无权将受监护的人拘留在精神卫生机构中,或强迫该人接受精神健康治疗。然而,《精神卫生法》的许多规定仍然强调监护人的权力。虽然《精神健康法》允许精神残疾者提起诉讼,但民事诉讼法的要求意味着在实践中不承认这一权利。

某些准行政程序进一步加剧了监护制度的负面影响。中国残疾人联合会颁发的《残疾人卡》(不论残疾类型如何)设有一个栏目,用于识别残疾人的监护人。但是,法律没有要求身体残疾者有监护人。在实践中,认知或智力残疾者必须在该栏目下确定其监护人(对于有视力障碍或类似残疾的人,相关部门将强烈建议(尽管这不是强制性的),如识别监护人的人)。此外,在许多情况下,残疾人家庭可以在残疾人不在场或不知情的情况下为残疾人申请残疾人卡。实际上,确定监护人的要求是剥夺法律行为能力。

一旦法律行为能力被剥夺,残疾人的日常生活在许多方面受到限制(即缔结合同或进行其他社会交易的能力)。这种剥夺法律行为能力限制了其他基本权利(包括选举权、结婚和建立家庭的权利、生殖权利、建立和终止亲密关系的权利以及同意医疗的权利治疗等)。如果残疾人不能行使其法律行为能力,他们的权利很容易受到侵犯。例如,残疾人常常被非自愿地拘留在精神卫生机构或被迫接受精神健康治疗。还经常发生残疾人被剥夺财产的情况。此外,尽管受到这种权利侵犯,但残疾人由于行使法律行为能力受到限制,无法寻求赔偿或补救。

 

©2019 残疾权利资源网

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.

According to the United Nations, nearly 83 million women and men in China or 6.3% of the population have a disability. Slightly over half of this population (52%) is male and 48% is female. Over 32 million people are of working age. Most persons with disabilities (75%) live in rural areas. Evidence from 2005 indicates that almost 14 million persons with disabilities in rural areas live in poverty and that the per capita income of households including persons with disabilities was less than half the average for other households.

Around 43% of persons with disabilities over the age of 15 are reported to be illiterate. Less than two thirds (63%) of children with disabilities aged 6 to 14 are enrolled in school. Approximately 85% of poor persons with disabilities have never advanced beyond middle school education. As a result, they have comparatively lower qualifications and poor production skills. In 2006, the annual average employment rate of persons with disabilities was 76% in urban areas and 79% in rural areas. This is compared to employment rates of over 90% per cent among persons without disabilities.

  1. Accession to international treaties 
     

  2. Constitution and domestic laws and policies 
     

  3. Education
     

  4. Employment 
     

  5. Rehabilitation 
     

  6. Accessibility 
     

  7. Legal Capacity 

 

1. Accession to international treaties

China has ratified most of the major international treaties, for example the CRPD, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (“ICESCR”), Convention on Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (“CEDAW”), and Convention on the Rights of the Child (“CRC”) although it did not sign or ratify any of the Optional Protocols to the above treaties. Further, China has signed but did not ratify the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (“ICCPR”).

 
 

2. Constitution and domestic laws and policies  

The Constitution of the People’s Republic in China (“Chinese Constitution”), enacted in 1982 and amended in 1988, 1993, 1999, and 2004, provides a general protection to persons with disabilities. Article 45 states that “Citizens of the People’s Republic of China have the right to material assistance from the State and society when they are old, ill or disabled. The State develops social insurance, social relief and medical and health services that are required for citizens to enjoy this right. The State and society ensure the livelihood of disabled members of the armed forces, provide pensions to the families of martyrs and give preferential treatment to the families of military personnel. The State and society help make arrangements for the work, livelihood and education of the blind, deaf-mutes and other handicapped citizens”.

Aside from the Chinese Constitution, the Chinese government has adopted and implemented a number of laws, policies, standards, and initiatives pertaining to persons with disabilities, (including in respect of their rights to education and productive and decent work).

The Law on the Protection of Disabled Persons (“Law”), enacted in 1991 and amended in 2008, is the major legislation that safeguards the rights of persons with disabilities in China. The Law contains 54 articles and 9 chapters (addressing rehabilitation,  education,  employment, cultural life, welfare, access, and legal liability). The amendment to the Law added details regarding stable financial support, better medical care and rehabilitation for people with disabilities, along with favourable employment and tax measures.

Article 3 of the Law contains a principle related to anti-discrimination and holds that “Disabled persons are entitled to the enjoyment of equal rights as other citizens in political, economic, cultural and social fields, in family life and other aspects. The rights of disabled persons as citizens and their personal dignity are protected by law. Discrimination against, insult of and infringement upon disabled persons is prohibited”.

Articles 49 to 52 establish enforcement mechanisms for disability-related laws (civil, criminal, and administrative) and list the rights, violations, and repercussions for breaking the Law.

‘Disability’ is defined in the Law and adopted in the majority of domestic laws and policies related to persons with disabilities in China. A person with disabilities is referred to as “one who suffers from abnormalities or loss of a certain organ or function, psychologically or physiologically, or in anatomical structure and has lost wholly or in part the ability to perform an activity in the way considered normal”. The term ‘disabled persons’ refers to persons with visual, hearing, speech or physical disabilities, mental retardation, mental disorder, multiple disabilities, and/ or other disabilities.

3. Education

The Compulsory Education Law requires every child to be given the right to nine years of free public education (i.e. six years of elementary school and three years of secondary school). However, for persons with disabilities, the education system in China is far from inclusive. Instead, education for persons with disabilities takes the form of segregated education in ordinary schools and/or education at special schools.

 

The primary laws relating to education for persons with disabilities are the Regulations on the Education of Persons with Disabilities  (1994, amended in 2013) (“Regulations”) which were enacted to ensure the rights of persons with disabilities to education. The Regulations aim to develop educational projects for persons with disabilities.

 

Whilst the 2013 amendments to the Regulations comprise positive elements (such as requiring mainstream schools to develop individualized educational plans for students with disabilities), Human Rights Watch criticized the amendments for failing to require the provision of reasonable accommodation (thereby  reinforcing a parallel system of segregated special education schools and failing to remove obstacles to attendance at ordinary schools for children with disabilities).

 

The legislations and regulations mentioned herein are accessible in the Domestic Legal Resources section under Inclusive Education.

 

4. Employment

According to an International Labor Organization (“ILO”) factsheet, the employment rate for persons with disabilities in urban and rural areas rose from less than 50% in 1987 to 80% in 2008. However, challenges remain for persons with disabilities to realize the right to work. These challenges include:

  • Bias and discrimination in society due to stereotypes of persons with disabilities

  • The increasing gap in the living conditions of persons with disabilities and others

  • Poverty

  • Lack of access opportunities to employment, education, vocation training, and social security

  • Lower education and skills for persons with disabilities compared to others

  • Low quality of employment including wage levels and conditions of work

  • Shortage of job opportunities

  • Insufficient employment services to assist persons with disabilities  in seeking jobs

  • Underdeveloped social security system(including underdeveloped financial support)

  • Weak enforceability of some legislative instruments

 

The current laws relating to the employment of persons with disabilities include:
 

  • The Rules on the Employment of Disabled Persons (2007) bans discrimination against persons with disabilities and was enacted to encourage social groups and individuals to support the employment of persons with disabilities through various means.

  • The  Employment  Promotion  Law  (2007) contains an anti-discrimination provision relating to persons with disabilities.

  • The 12th Five Year National Programme on Disability (2011-2015) has as one of its key aims the creation of 1 million jobs for persons with disabilities in the next five years.

  • The  Chinese government has also established a quota system requiring all public and private employers to reserve no less than 1.5 %  of job opportunities for persons with disabilities.  Provincial authorities specify the exact quota level which may vary between provinces).

 

It is worth noting that China was also supported by the ILO as part of its Decent Work Country Programme to address the needs of those most disadvantaged in the labour market(including persons with disabilities) and promote worker rights, fundamental principles, and labour rights. The last ILO Decent Work Country  Programme with China ran from 2013-2015.

The legislations and regulations mentioned herein are accessible in the Domestic Legal Resources section under Supported Employment.

 

5. Rehabilitation  

Rehabilitation occupies an important position in government policies and programs and is included in national and social development programs. Rehabilitation programs aim to mainstream and facilitate the participation of persons with disabilities in society.

Laws relating to mental health and rehabilitation include:

  • The   Rehabilitative   Medical   Education Plan (1992), which contains regulations on training and education of rehabilitation doctors and therapists, physiotherapists and occupational therapists.

  • The Provisional Regulations of the Qualification System for Prosthetists and Orthotists (1997), which aims to improve the production of artificial limbs, assistive devices, wheelchairs and canes, while focusing on standardizing production.

  • The  Mental  Health  Law  (2012), which standardizes mental health care services, requiring general hospitals to set up special outpatient clinics or provide counselling, and calls for the training of more doctors. It aims to prevent individuals from being involuntarily held and treated in psychiatric facilities.

 

6. Accessibility

China’s Law on Protection of the Disabled, upon amendment in 2008, included a chapter of 7 articles which require the State and society to adopt measures to construct barrier-free facilities and promote barrier-free information exchange in order that “the disabled may participate in social life on an equal basis”.

In 2012, the new Regulations on Construction of Accessible Environment (“Accessible Environment Regulations”) came into place. The Accessible Environment Regulations require local governments to construct various public facilities (including all urban, newly-constructed, altered and extended roads, public buildings, public transportation facilities, residential buildings, and residential communities) to accommodate persons with disabilities. The Accessible Environment Regulations aim to create accessibility and barrier-free environments to guarantee that persons with disabilities and other members of society can participate equally in social life (Article 1).

“Construction of barrier-free environments” refers to construction activities to facilitate access by persons with disabilities to roads, entrances and exits of buildings, public transportation, exchanges of information, and community services in an independent and safe manner (Article 2).

For works already built that do not satisfy the standards and rural areas, the Accessible Environment Regulations specify that the standards must be “gradually reached” (Article 9). The Accessible Environment Regulations also require medium to large-sized public parking lots and parking lots in large residential communities in cities to designate barrier-free parking spaces for the exclusive use of physically-disabled persons (Article 14). The Accessible Environment Regulations also require governments at various levels to promote barrier-free design in information exchange (i.e. by providing examination papers printed in Braille, electronic examination papers, or staff assistance to attendees with visual disabilities at state-operated examinations, broadcasting news programs with sign language at least once per week on state-run TV stations, and supplying voice and written warnings and other information exchange services in sign language and Braille in public places) (Articles 20, 21 and 24). Publicly distributed video products, including movies and TV shows, must have subtitles (Article 21).

The legislations and regulations mentioned herein are accessible in the Domestic Legal Resources section under Reasonable Accommodation. 

 

7. Legal Capacity

In China, the recognition of legal capacity is equated with a mental capacity assessment (thus allowing disability to be a basis to deprive or deny a person of his or her legal capacity). The relevant laws differentiate individuals based on their mental states and are discriminatory in that they assume that persons with mental disabilities do not have the ability to exercise their legal capacity. Similarly, in practice, whether a person with mental disability can recognize his or her own behaviour is frequently assessed medically (i.e. based on mental capacity assessment).

The guardianship system places persons with disabilities under the substituted decision-making regime. As a result, persons with disabilities are unable to make decisions concerning themselves according to their own will and preference.

The Mental Health Law that came into force in 2013 is perceived as an attempt to prevent involuntary treatment and increase the involvement of persons with mental disabilities. To an extent, this legislation restricts the authority of guardians (i.e. a guardian has no authority to restrict the personal liberty of a person with mental disability). In other words, guardians do not have authority to detain a person under guardianship in a mental health facility or force such person to undergo mental health treatment. However, many of the provisions in the Mental Health Law still emphasize the powers of guardians. While the Mental Health Law enables a person with mental disability to bring a legal action, requirements under civil procedure laws mean that this right is not recognized in practice.

Certain quasi-administrative procedures further aggravates the negative impact of the guardianship system. The Disabled Card (regardless of the type of disability) issued by the China Disabled Persons’ Federation has a column to identify the guardian of the person with disability. However, the law does not require persons with physical disabilities to have a guardian. In practice, persons with cognitive or intellectual disabilities must identify their guardians under that column(for persons with visual impairment or similar disabilities, the relevant department will strongly recommend (though this is not compulsory) such person to identify a guardian). Moreover, under many circumstances, the families of persons with disabilities can apply for a Disabled Card for such persons without their presence or knowledge. The requirement to identify a guardian is, in practice, a deprivation of legal capacity.

Once legal capacity has been deprived, the daily lives of persons with disabilities are limited in many aspects (i.e. in regards to the ability to conclude contracts or conduct other social transactions). This deprivation of legal capacity limits other fundamental rights (including the right to vote, the right to marry and found a family, reproductive rights, the right to establish and terminate intimate relationships, and the right to give consent to medical treatment etc.). Where persons with disabilities are unable to exercise their legal capacity, their rights can be easily infringed. For example, very often, persons with disabilities are involuntarily detained in mental health facilities or forced to undergo mental health treatment. There are also frequent cases of persons with disabilities being deprived of their property. Moreover, despite such rights infringements, persons with disabilities are unable to seek compensation or redress due to the restrictions placed on their exercise of legal capacity.