街法

​香港大学透过其街法课题,为本科生及研究生提供实用课程。街法课程为法律学生提供了发展专业技能和以多种方式服务社区的机会,包括对外行人进行法律教育。

2019年,香港大学与两个非政府组织合作,推出残疾权利臨床法律診所,重点倡导在残疾人权利范围内进行法律改革。参加课程的学生可以选择与香港非政府组织卓新力量合作,为智障人士倡导法律改革,或为深圳的非政府组织维德提供法律服务,以参与他们正在进行的机场无障碍研究。

与卓新力量合作的学生在选定的法域对《残疾人权利公约》第27条的遵守情况进行了比较,即与他人平等工作的权利。学生们特别注重审查庇护所,以及庇护所的讲习班是否符合与其他人平等工作的权利。与卓新力量合作的学生还就政府提议的特别需要信托基金以及这种信托是否符合《残疾人权利公约》第12条(获得法律能力的权利)进行了研究。

与维德合作的学生对世界各地的机场无障碍设施进行了比较分析,以协助维德更广泛的倡导策略。学生们仔细汇报了选定国家机场无障碍设施相关的各种法律、法规和政策。通过研究,学生不仅发现各辖区在无障碍程度上存在巨大差异,而且在决策过程中发现各个层面的无障碍政策存在差异。许多学生惊讶地发现,一些商业航空公司经常自行制定无障碍政策,而这是超出了法律规定的范围。残疾权利臨床法律診所学生进行的研究帮助维德了解了国内外的最佳做法。维德打算与中国决策者和其他残疾人权利倡导者分享这些研究结论。

©2019 残疾权利资源网

Street Law

The University of Hong Kong offers hands-on practical courses to undergraduate and postgraduate students through its Street Law projects. The Street Law projects provide an opportunity for law students to develop professional skills and serve the community in numerous ways, including educating laypersons on the law. 

 

In 2019, the University of Hong Kong launched its Disability Rights Clinic Programme in partnership with two NGOs, focusing on advocating for legal reforms within the disability rights context. Students in the clinic programme were given the option to work with Chosen Power, a local NGO, to advocate for legal reforms for people with intellectual disabilities, or Wider, a Shenzhen based NGO, to contribute to their ongoing research on airport accessibility in mainland China. 

 

Students working with Chosen Power conducted research comparing compliance of Article 27 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, namely the right to work on an equal basis with others, among selected jurisdictions. Students particularly focussed on examining sheltered workshops and whether the existence of such workshops was consistent with the right to work on an equal basis with others. Students working with Chosen Power also conducted research on the government’s proposed Special Needs Trust and whether such a trust would comply with Article 12 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (right to legal capacity). 

 

Students working with Wider conducted a comparative analysis of airport accessibility around the globe in order to assist with Wider’s broader advocacy strategy. Students meticulously reported on the various laws, regulations and policies relating to accessibility in airports in selected countries. Through the research, students did not only discover a great disparity in the levels of accessibility among jurisdictions but also, they discovered the discrepancy of accessibility policies at all levels of the decision-making process. Many students were surprised to find that a few commercial airlines often took it upon themselves to institute their own accessibility policies that went beyond what was legally required of them. The research conducted by students of The Disability Rights Clinic has helped Wider learn about best practices both domestically and abroad. Wider intends to share these findings with policymakers and other disability rights advocates in China.

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.