台湾

本节旨在概述台湾保障残疾人权利的法律和政策。
 

  1. 引进
     

  2. 国内立法
     

  3. 台湾与《残疾人权利公约》

 
  1. 导言

在过去三十年里, 台湾的残疾领域逐步走向人权模式。蔡英文和何鸿讲述了台湾政府传统上采用的看待残疾人的慈善模式, 这种模式一直持续到上世纪 9 0年代中期。《残障人福利法》 ("福利法") 等福利法是在1980年才颁布的, 但这些法律提供的实际支助很少, 大多数条款是 "规劝性的"。

 

1980年代, 新成立的残疾自助协会开始抗议残疾人在教育、交通和就业等领域被剥夺公民权。直到19 9 0 年代, 慈善模式的主导理念才受到动摇。在新自由主义浪潮下, 台湾政府开始将社会服务外判给私营部门。大量跟残疾权利相关的组织繼而创办, 然后成为服务提供者, 当中许多组织采用了残疾的社会模式。这些组织还成功地开展了取消公共考试和民选职位限制的运动。

 

1997年,因《福利法》进行了实质性修订,而出现了一个转折点,。新命名的《身体和精神残疾公民保护法》明确采用了基于权利的语言,并载有平等机会条款。台湾还进行了治理改革, 以加强法律的执行和实施。2007年该法进行了进一步改革, 成为《残疾人权利保护法》。

 
 

2. 国内立法

《残疾人权利保护法》为17类机构分配责任提供了一个框架。此外, 在中央政府负责决策的同时, 实际执行工作由县、市政府负责, 策划的实行存在着巨大的地区差异 。

2012年的改革改变了残疾的定义,目前的定义载于《残疾人权利保护法》第5条,当中列出了八类残疾。政府声称, 这遵循了世界卫生组织的《国际功能、残疾和健康分类》(英: International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health , ICF)。根据《残疾人权利保护法》获得各种保护的资格取决于根据第5条标准进行的残疾认同评估。评估结果每5年到期一次。

《残疾人权利保护法》涵盖6个领域: 医疗权利、受教育权、就业权、支援服务、经济保障和防护服务。大多数条款只规定了执行当局应通过附属立法或政府政策实施的标准。实质性要求包括在雇佣超过34人的政府单位中规定3% 的强制性残疾人雇用配额; 违反这一规定的需要向残疾就业基金缴纳罚款。

3. 台湾与《残疾人权利公约》

作为联合国的非成员国, 台湾没有资格成为主要人权条约的缔约国。然而, 这并不妨碍台湾政府通过国内立法落实人权条约。2009年, 台湾立法机构通过了一项法律, 将《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》和《经济、社会、文化权利国际公约》纳入国内法。在随后的几年里, 通过了《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》和《儿童权利公约》的执行法律。

 

2014年, 立法院通过了《残疾人权利公约执行法》 (《执行法》)。第2条规定, 《残疾人权利公约》的规定 "应具有国内法律地位"。

值得注意的是, 《执行法》还规定了自己的报告义务。在法律实施后两年内提交初次报告后, 政府应每四年提交一次报告 (第7条)。

台湾政府似乎已经认真对待编写第一份缔约国报告的任务。从2015年底开始, 为负责起草报告的政府官员举办了一系列培训讲习班。2016年初公布了初稿, 随后与相关利益攸关方举行了协商会议。最终报告由行政院于2016年12月公布。根据政府提供的资料, 初次报告的英文译文于2017年4月与民间社会起草的影子报告一起提供给了国际审查委员会。国际审查委员会于2017年10月30日至11月1日与政府进行了为期三天的互动对话。国际审查委员会通过的结论性意见于2017年11月3日公布。

政府还根据《执行法》第10条, 对其法律和条例是否符合《残疾人权利公约》进行审查。整个审查和修订进程预计将于2019年结束。

相关链接:


台湾政府残疾人权利委员会网站 (http://crpd.sfaa.gov.tw/)

 

©2019 残疾权利资源网

Taiwan

This section provides an overview of the laws and policies that guarantee disability rights in Taiwan.

  1. Introduction
     

  2. Domestic legislation
     

  3. Taiwan and the Convention on the Rights of Disabled Persons (CRPD)

 

1. Introduction

The disability field in Taiwan has seen a gradual movement towards the human rights model in the past three decades. Tsai and Ho recount that until the mid-1990s, the Taiwanese government traditionally adopted a charity model in respect of persons with disabilities. Welfare laws, such as the Disabled Persons Welfare Law (“Welfare Law”), were only enacted in 1980and provided minimal actual support with most articles being “exhortative”.

In the 1980’s, newly formed disability self-help societies began to launch protests against the disenfranchisement of persons with disabilities in areas such as education, transportation, and employment. But the dominant notion of the charity model was unshaken until the 1990s. Under the wave of neo-liberalism, the Taiwanese government began to outsource its social services to the private sector. A large number of disability organizations became service providers (with many adopting a social model of disability). These organizations successfully campaigned for the removal of restrictions for persons in disabilities in public exams and elected offices.

A watershed moment came in 1997 when the Welfare Law was substantially revised. The newly-renamed Physically and Mentally Disabled Citizens Protection Act explicitly adopted rights-based language and contained equal opportunity provisions. Reforms were also instituted to enhance the enforcement and implementation of the Welfare Law. The Welfare Law was further reformed in 2007 to become the People with Disabilities Rights Protection Law.

 
 

2. Domestic legislation 

The People with Disabilities Rights Protection Law (“Rights Protection Law”) provides a framework for the distribution of responsibility to 17 types of agencies. Whilst the government is in charge of creating policies, the implementation of such policies is undertaken by county and city governments. This has led Zhou and Zhu to argue that large regional differences exist for the actual realization of rights.

After a 2012 reform, the current definition of ‘disability’ is found in Article 5 of the Rights Protection Law which sets out eight categories of disability. The government claims that this follows the World Health Organization’s International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF). The eligibility for the various protections under the Rights Protection Law hinges on a disability identification assessment based on criteria under Article 5. The assessments expire every 5 years.

 

The Rights Protection Law covers 6 areas: medical rights, educational rights, employment rights, supportive services, economic protection, and protective services. Most articles only set out standards that the implementing authority is expected to put in practice through subsidiary legislation or government policy. Substantive requirements include a mandatory hiring quota of 3% in government entities with more than 34 staff. Entities which contravene this rule must pay a fine to a disability employment fund.

3. Taiwan and the CRPD

Taiwan is not eligible to become a State Party to the major human rights treaties as it is not a member State of the UN. Nonetheless, the government has given effect to international human rights treaties through its domestic legislation. In 2009, the Taiwanese legislature passed a law that incorporated the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (“ICCPR”) and International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (“ICESCR”) into domestic law. Laws implementing the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (“CEDAW”) and Convention on the Rights of the Child (“CRC”) were implemented subsequently.

In 2014, the Convention on the Rights of Disabled Persons Implementation Law (“Implementation Law”) was passed and  Article 2 provides that the CRPD provisions “shall have domestic legal status”.

Notably, the Implementation Law provides for its own reporting obligations. Pursuant to Article 7, the government shall file a report every four years after submission of an initial report within the first two years.

The Taiwanese government appears to have undertaken the task of producing the Initial State Party Report (“Initial Report”) seriously. Starting from late 2015, a series of training workshops were held for government officials responsible for drafting the Initial Report. A first draft was publicized in early 2016. This first draft was followed by consultative meetings with relevant stakeholders. The final Initial Report was published by the Executive Yuan in December 2016. According to information provided by the government, the English translation of the Initial Report was provided to an International Review Committee (“IRC”) in April 2017 together with shadow reports drafted by civil society. The IRC held an interactive dialogue with the government over three days from 30 October to 1 November 2017. The Concluding Observations adopted by the IRC were published on 3 November 2017.

The government is also undertaking a review of its laws and regulations for their conformity with the CRPD, in accordance with Article 10 of the Implementation Law. The review and revision process is expected to end in 2019.

Related link:


CRPD Website of the Taiwanese government (http://crpd.sfaa.gov.tw/)

 

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.