©2019 残疾权利资源网

 

1. 非洲框架下的残疾权利

非洲国家目前没有专门处理残疾人权利的公约或条约。尽管如此,非洲各项公约都提到了残疾人的权利。

例如,《非洲人权和人民权利宪章》(又称《班珠尔宪章》)是一项国际人权文书,旨在促进和在整个非洲大陆保护人权和基本自由。《非洲人权和人民权利宪章》包括了个人和团体的权利和义务,即法律面前平等和平等保护的权利(第3条)、生命权(第4条)、禁止酷刑和残忍、不人道和有辱人格的待遇(第5条)和工作权(第15条).第16条第(1)款规定,人人有权享有可达到的最佳身心健康状况,第18条第(4)款规定,残疾人有权在符合他们的生理或道德需要。

非洲儿童权利和福利宪章》提到残疾儿童。第13条规定了特别保护措施、自力更生、参与和接触残疾儿童的原则。

在2000-2009年,「非洲残疾人十年」是非洲非政府界与非洲统一组织成员国和政府合作发起的一项倡议,旨在进一步实现非洲残疾人社会对残疾人的平等。残疾人在社会中的机会、充分参与和独立。

 
 

2. 非洲人权和人民权利委员会

设在冈比亚班珠尔的非洲委员会是根据《非洲人权和人民权利宪章》("《非洲宪章》")第30条设立的,于1986年10月21日开始运作。非洲委员会向非洲联盟国家元首和政府首脑大会报告。它促进和保护非洲联盟成员国的人权和基本自由,并解释和监督《非洲宪章》的执行情况。非洲委员会听取个人、个人团体、非政府组织和会员国就指称违反《非洲宪章》提出的申诉(并可将案件提交非洲人权和人民权利法院。委员会还审查非洲委员会成员国和成员等各方提交的关于其成员国人权状况的报告。非洲委员会进行国别访问,并建立了特别机制制度,包括特别报告员和工作组,以促进和保护特定群体的权利。例如,在2007年成立了老年人和残疾人权利工作组。

非洲委员会有权提出它认为在特定情况下"有用"的建议。然而,其调查结果和建议对会员国没有约束力。《非洲宪章》也没有关于执行非洲委员会的调查结果和建议的规定。

在2009年,老年人和残疾人权利工作组於非洲委员会第45届常会正式设立了。工作组的任务如下:

  • 举办全面的集思广益会议,阐明老年人和残疾人的权利;

  • 起草一份概念文件,供委员会审议,作为通过《老龄和残疾人问题议定书》草案的基础(工作组已印发了《非洲人类和残疾人宪章议定书草案》)2016年4月非洲残疾人权利人民权利(链接);

  • 促进和加快对非洲大陆老年人和残疾人人权的各个方面(包括社会经济权利)的比较研究;

  • 收集关于老年人和残疾人的数据,以确保他们的权利适当纳入会员国的政策和发展方案的主流;

  • 确定在会员国中推广的良好做法(工作组负责从个人、政府和非政府组织以及其他利益攸关方那里获得有关权利的信息老年人和残疾人士,可在报告、新闻稿或其他活动中提高对此类问题的认识;

  • 在每届常会上向非洲委员会提交一份详细的报告,其中涉及工作组在这一年开展的活动。

除上述情况外,非洲委员会还听取个人和非政府组织关于违反《班珠尔宪章》一项或多项权利的申诉。

3. 非洲人权和人民权利法院

 

非洲法院是由1998年6月通过的、及2004年1月25日生效的《班珠尔宪章议定书》的第1条设立的。非洲法院在已签署及执行《班珠尔宪章》的议定书、其议定书的成员国拥有争议和咨询管辖权州。

非洲法院可审理任何由非洲人权和人民权利委员会和成员国对于《议定书》或非洲政府间组织提出的申诉。具有委员会观察员地位的非政府组织和根据《议定书》第三十四条作出声明的国家的个人(接受非洲法院的管辖权)也可提出申诉。此外,会员国可代表公民向非洲法院提出申诉。

非洲法院所有待决和审结的案件都可以在这里查阅。

1. Disability Rights under the African Framework 

There is currently no convention or treaty among African nations specifically addressing the rights of persons with disabilities. Nonetheless, the rights of persons with disabilities have been mentioned in various African conventions.
 

For example, the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“African Charter”) (also known as the Banjul Charter) is an international human rights instrument that is intended to promote and protect human rights and basic freedoms throughout the African continent. The African Charter includes rights and duties applicable both  to individuals and groups (i.e. the right to equality and equal protection before the law (Article 3), right to life (Article 4), prohibition of torture, and cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment (Article 5), and right to work (Article 15)). Article 16(1) provides that every individual shall have the right to enjoy the best attainable state of physical and mental health and Article 18(4) provides that persons with disabilities have the right to special measures of protection in keeping with their physical or moral needs.
 

The African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child contains reference to children with disabilities. Article 13 provides for special measures of protection, principles of self-reliance, participation, and access to children with disabilities.

The Africa Decade of Disabled People, an initiative of the non-governmental community of Africa in cooperation with Member States and Governments of the Organization of African Unity, was proclaimed in 2000 to 2009 to further equalization of opportunities, full participation, and independence of persons with disabilities in society.

 
 

2. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“African Commission”)
 

The African Commission, based in Banjul, The Gambia, was established under Article 30 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“African Charter”), and became operational on 21 October 1986. The African Commission reports to the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union. It promotes and protects human rights and basic freedoms in the Members States of the African Union as well as interprets and oversees the implementation of the African Charter. The African Commission hears complaints submitted by individuals, group of individuals, non-governmental organizations, and Members States concerning alleged violations of the African Charter (and may refer cases to the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights). It also examines reports submitted by various parties, such as the Members States and members of the African Commission, on the situation of human rights in its Members States. The African Commission carries out country visits and has established a system of Special Mechanisms, including Special Rapporteurs and Working Groups, to promote and protect the rights of specific groups. For example, the Working Group on Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities was established in 2007.
 

The African Commission has the power to make recommendations that it considers “useful” in a particular case. However, its findings and recommendations are not binding on Members States. There are also no provisions in the African Charter regarding the enforcement of the African Commission’s findings and recommendations.

The Working Group on Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities was officially established in 2009 at the 45th ordinary session of the African Commission. The Working Group has the following mandates:

  • Hold comprehensive brainstorming sessions to articulate the rights of older persons and persons with disabilities;

  • Draft a Concept Paper for consideration by the Commission that will serve as a basis for the adoption of the Draft Protocol on Ageing and People with Disabilities(the Working Group has issued the Draft Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Africa in April 2016 (link));

  • Facilitate and expedite comparative research on the various aspects of human rights of older persons and persons with disabilities on the continent(including socio-economic rights);

  • Collect data on older persons and persons with disabilities to ensure proper mainstreaming of their rights in the policies and development programmes of Members States;

  • Identify good practices to be replicated in Members States (the Working Group is responsible for seeking and receiving information from individuals, governmental and non-governmental organizations, and other stakeholders concerning the rights of older persons and persons with disabilities, and may raise awareness of such issues in its reports, press releases, or other activities);

  • Submit a detailed report to the African Commission at each ordinary session, outlining the activities undertaken by that the Working Group in the year.

In addition to the above, the African Commission also hears complaints by individuals and non-governmental organizations regarding alleged violations of one or more of the rights contained in the Banjul Charter.

3. The African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“African Court”)

 

The African Court was established by Article 1 of the Protocol to the Banjul Charter (“Protocol”), which was adopted in June 1998 and came into force on 25 January 2004. The African Court has contentious and advisory jurisdiction over Members States that have ratified the Protocol concerning the interpretation and implementation of the Banjul Charter, its Protocol, and other human rights instruments ratified by the Members States.

The African Court may hear complaints submitted by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“Commission”) and Members States to the Protocol or African Intergovernmental Organizations. Non-governmental organizations with observer status before the Commission and individuals from States which have made a declaration under Article 34 of the Protocol (accepting the jurisdiction of the African Court) may also submit a complaint. Further, Members States may submit a complaint to the African Court on behalf of an individual citizen.

All pending and finalized cases of the African Court are accessible here.

 

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.