比较区域

本节概述了其他司法管辖区的反残疾歧视框架。其目的是加强大家对世界各地事态发展的了解,以帮助了解大中华地区的宣传和诉讼工作的筹略,促使加强对残疾人士權利的保障。

  1. 澳大利亚
     

  2. 加拿大

 
  1. 澳大利亚

1992年订立的《残疾歧视法》(英: The Disability Discrimination Act 1992)保障澳大利亚人在公共生活不受不公平待遇。该法禁止基于残疾的直接和间接歧视, 并促进残疾人的平等权利、平等机会和可以享有无障碍的生活。该法涵盖了广泛的生活领域, 包括:

 

  • 就业

  • 教育

  • 进入公众使用的场所

  • 提供货物、服务和设施

  • 住宿 及 购买土地

  • 俱乐部和协会的活动

  • 运动

  • 联邦政府法律和方案的管理

 

该法对 "残疾" 的定义很宽泛, 包括身体、智力、精神、感官、神经和学习残疾, 以及身体毁容, 以及体内存在致病性疾病生物体。该法还涵盖现有、过去、未来和或被認為存在的殘疾。它还包括因使用残疾援助或协助以及与残疾人的联系而产生的歧视。它还在防止因残疾而在就业、教育和货物、服务和设施供给方面而受到侵扰。

除了该法的广泛内容外, 它还进行了两项重要的革新, 即建立两个监管机制, 其形式是以残疾人士福利为标准和行动计划。

在残疾标准方面, 该法规定政府在就业、教育、住宿和交通服务方面制定具有法律约束力的残疾标准。目前公布了三项标准, 即《场所标准》、《教育残疾标准》和《无障碍公共交通残疾标准》。《标准》附有帮助个人和组织遵守相关标准的准则和咨询说明, 但不具有法律约束力。你可以在这里的澳大利亚人权委员会网站上看到有关信息。

 

在行动计划方面, 该法规定, "服务提供者可以制定和执行行动计划"。(第60条) "服务提供者" 是政府部门和工具, 也是提供商品或服务的人士。这些行动计划是完全自愿的而不一定与该法的任何规定有关。这個计划現已被澳大利亚越来越多的公司現已实行这個计划, 跨越多个行业。 你可以在这里的澳大利亚人权理事会网站上看到有关信息。

该法尽管有好处, 但也有其局限性。首先, 它允许歧视的特例。例如, 在就业方面, 该法允许雇主因残疾人士的残疾而无法从事这项工作这个原因而排除他们在外, 如果他们的特点使他们无法从事这项工作。 然而, 这一法定例外的范围相当狭窄。它只限于雇用和解雇, 不适用于所有雇主的要求, 而只适用于工作的 "固有" 要求或工作的基本方面。(第21A 条)

第二, 该法没有规定责任承担者提供合理便利或调整的一般义务。因此, 被影响者需要通过调解或诉讼对肇事者寻求救济。

你可以在这里阅读更多关于澳大利亚的残疾人权利。

 
 

2. 加拿大

加拿大没有具体的反残疾歧视立法, 但各种宪法和法律文书都有保护残疾人权利。

首先, 作为《加拿大宪法》一部分的《加拿大权利和自由宪章》第15条规定, 加拿大的每一个人,不分种族、宗教、民族或族裔出身、肤色、性别、年龄或身体或精神残疾,均应被认为是平等的。这意味着政府不得以某人的残疾为由进行歧视。 同时, 第15 (2) 条还允许通过法律或方案采取积极行动, 改善处境不利的个人或群体的状况。

第二, 1977年《加拿大人权法》保护加拿大人在受雇于政府或受政府监管的私营公司或接受政府监管的服务时不受歧视。

第三,加拿大有在特定生活领域保护残疾人的具体立法。例如, 无障碍交通部发布了准则和业务守则, 以指导和协助运输供应商为残疾人、老年人及其他有独特需求的公民提供无障碍的国家交通网络, 而不会遇到不应有的障碍(请阅读此处)。《就业平等法》保护就业中的残疾人。该法的目的是实现工作场所的平等, 纠正就业中的不利条件, 最重要的是落实 「就业公平不仅仅意味着以同样的方式对待人, 但也要求『就业公平』的原则的特别措施和兼顾差异 」(第2节) 这超越了将平等等同于不歧视的传统观念,是一项值得赞扬的立法。

©2019 残疾权利资源网

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.

Comparative

This section contains a summary of the anti-disability discrimination frameworks in other jurisdictions. It aims to strengthen the understanding of global developments in order to assist with advocacy and strategic litigation efforts for strengthening protections for persons with disabilities in the greater China region.

  1. Australia
     

  2. Canada

 

1. Australia 

The Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (“Act”) protects individuals across Australia from unfair treatment in many parts of public life. The Act prohibits direct and indirect discrimination on the grounds of disability and promotes equal rights, equal opportunities, and equal access for persons with disabilities. The Act covers vast areas of life, including:

  • Employment

  • Education

  • Access to premises used by the public

  • Provision of goods, services and facilities

  • Accommodation and Buying land

  • Activities of clubs and associations

  • Sports

  • Administration of Commonwealth Government laws and programs

The definition of “disability” in the Act is broad and includes physical, intellectual, psychiatric, sensory, neurological and learning disabilities, as well as physical disfigurement, and the presence of disease-causing organisms in the body. The Act also covers existing, past, future and perceived disability. It also covers discrimination arising out of the use of disability aid or assistance and association with persons with disabilities. It also protects against harassment in employment, education and the provision of goods, services, and facilities.

Aside from its broad catch, the Act contains two important innovations, being the creation of two regulatory mechanisms in the form of disability standards and action plans.

In terms of disability standards, the Act provides for the development of legally binding disability standards in respect of employment, education, accommodation, and transport services by the government. There are currently three standards published (being the Premises Standards, Disability Standards for Education, and Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport) (“Standards”). The Standards are accompanied by guidelines and advisory notes to assist persons and organizations with compliance (but are not legally binding). The Standards are accessible at the Australian Human Rights Commission website here.

In terms of action plans, the Act provides that ”[a]service provider may prepare and implement an action plan”. (s.60) ”Service providers” include government departments, instrumentalities, and individuals who provide goods or services. The action plans are entirely voluntary and not necessarily linked to any provisions in the Act. Nonetheless, the action plans have been provided by a growing number of companies across Australia across a range of industries.  The actions plans are accessible at the Australian Human Rights Commission website here.

The Act, despite its positive aspects, also has its limitations. First, it allows for exceptions to discrimination. For example, in employment, the Act permits employers to exclude persons with disabilities if their traits prevent them from performing the job.  However, the scope of this statutory exception is quite narrow. It is only limited to hiring and dismissal from employment and does not apply to all employment requirements  (but only ”inherent” requirements or essential aspects of the job) (Section 21A).

Secondly, the Act contains no general obligation on duty holders to provide reasonable accommodation or adjustments. Therefore, victims must seek relief through conciliation or litigation.

Further information on disability rights in Australia are accessible here.

 
 

2. Canada 

There is no specific anti-disability discrimination legislation in Canada but disability rights are protected in various constitutional and legislative instruments.

First, Section 15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (“Charter”), a part of the Canadian Constitution, states that every individual in Canada – regardless of race, religion, national or ethnic origin, colour, sex, age or physical or mental disability – is to be considered equal. This implies that the government must not discriminate on the basis of disability.  At the same time, Section 15(2) allows for affirmative actions, through law or programs, to be taken to improve the situation of disadvantaged individuals or groups.

Secondly, the Canadian Human Rights Act of 1977 (“Act”) protects Canadians from discrimination when they are employed by or receive services from the government or private companies that are regulated by the government.

Thirdly, legislation that protects persons with disabilities in specific areas of life were implemented. For example, the Accessible Transportation Unit issues Guidelines and Codes of Practice to guide and assist transportation providers to provide accessibility to national transportation network without undue obstacles for persons with disabilities, seniors, and other citizens with unique needs. (read here). The Employment Equity Act protects persons with disabilities in employment. The purpose of the Employment Equity Act is to achieve equality in the workplace, correct the conditions of disadvantage in employment, and most importantly, to give effect to the principle that “employment equity means more than treating persons in the same way but also requires special measures and the accommodation of differences” (Section 2). The Employment Equity Act is commendable as it extends beyond the traditional perception of equating equality with non-discrimination.