©2019 残疾权利资源网

全纳教育:国內资源

国际资源

资源

Academic articles

学术文章

倡议和培训材料

Useful websites

实用网站

中国内地

在中国,承认法律执行能力与精神行为能力评估划上等号,从而使残障成为剥夺或否认一个人的法律执行能力的根据。相关法例清楚以精神状态区分人们,这些法例预设了精神残疾人士没有能力行使其法律执行能力,具有歧视性。同样地,在实际情况下,精神残疾人士能否意识自身行为,通常是在医学上进行评估,亦即基于精神行为能力评估。

 

监护系统把残疾人士置于代作决定机制下,因此,残疾人士并不能根据个人意愿和偏好来为自己作决定。

 

2013年生效的中华人民共和国精神卫生法,被视为防止非自愿治疗及提升残疾人士参与程度的方案。这条法例在某程度上,限制了监护人的权力。例如,监护人没有权力限制精神残疾人士的个人自由。换言之,监护人没有权力把残疾人士留在精神健康中心,或强迫残疾人士接受精神健康治疗。然而,精神卫生法中不少条款仍然突显了监护人的权力。虽然精神卫生法允许精神残疾人士提出法律诉讼,但基于民事诉讼法的规定,在执行上,提出诉讼的权利并不被承认。

 

某些准行政程序进一步加剧了监护系统的负面影响。由中国残疾人联合会颁发的中国残疾人证(不论任何残疾)中,设有一栏用作列明精神残疾人士的监护人。然而,这是没有法例依据的,没有一条法人例规定精神残疾人士必须有监护人。实际上,有认知障碍或智力障碍的人士必须在该栏列明其监护人;至于有视力障碍或其他类似障碍的人士,相关部门强烈建议他们有一个监护人(此举并非必须)。此外,值得一提的是,在大部份情况下,残疾人士的家人在无需残疾人士在场或得悉下,就能申请残疾人证。要求拥有监护人,其实就是一种剥夺法律执行能力的行为。

 

残疾人士的法律执行能力一旦被剥夺,他们的日常生活就会在很多不同方面受到限制,例如签订合同或进行其他社交活动的能力。剥夺残疾人士的法律执行能力,会限制他们其他的基本权利,例如投票权、结婚和建立家庭的权利、生育权、建立和终止亲密关係的权利、接受医疗的权利等。事实上,因为残疾人士没有能力行使法律执行能力,他们的权利很容易被侵犯。例如,残疾人士常常被迫留在精神健康中心或接受精神医疗,被剥夺财物亦是常见的情况。更甚的是,即使被侵犯权利,残疾人士也不能寻求赔偿或补救,因为他们的法律执行能力受到多种限制。

©2019 Disability Rights Resource Network.

Academic articles
Useful websites

In China, the recognition of legal capacity is equated with mental capacity assessment. This allows disability to form the basis for depriving or denying a person legal capacity. The laws differentiate persons according to their mental states and are discriminatory as they presume that persons with mental disabilities do not have the ability to exercise legal capacity. In practice, whether persons with mental disabilities are able to understand their own actions is frequently based on a medical assessment of mental capacity.

The guardianship system places persons with disabilities under the substituted decision-making regime. As a result, persons with disabilities are unable to make decisions concerning themselves based on their own will and preference.

The Mental Health Law that came into force in 2013 has been perceived as an attempt to prevent involuntary treatment and increase the involvement of persons with mental disabilities. This legislation, to a certain extent, restricts the authority of a guardian. For example, under this legislation, a guardian has no authority to restrict the personal liberty of a person with mental disability. In other words, a guardian does not have authority to detain a person under guardianship at a mental health facility or force such person to undergo mental health treatment. However, many of the provisions in the Mental Health Law still underscore the powers of guardians to make decisions for and on behalf of a person with mental disability. While the Mental Health Law allows a person with mental disability to bring a legal action, this is not carried out in practice given the related requirements under China’s civil procedure law.

Certain quasi-administrative procedures further aggravate the negative impact of the guardianship system. For example, the Disabled Card (regardless of the type of disability) issued by the China Disabled Persons’ Federation has a column to identify the guardian of the person with disability. However, there is no law that requires persons with physical disabilities to have a guardian. In practice, persons with cognitive or intellectual disabilities must identify their guardians under that column. Alternatively, for persons with visual impairment or similar disabilities, it is strongly recommended (if not mandated) that such persons also identify a guardian. Moreover, it must be noted that under most circumstances, the family of a person with disability can apply for a Disabled Card without the presence or knowledge of such person. The requirement of identifying a guardian is, in practice, a deprivation of legal capacity.

Once legal capacity has been deprived, the daily lives of persons with disabilities will be limited in many aspects. For example, they will lose the ability to conclude contracts or conduct other social transactions. Depriving the legal capacity of persons with disabilities also limit other fundamental rights, including the right to vote, the right to marry and found a family, reproductive rights, the right to establish and terminate intimate relationships, and the right to give consent to medical treatment. As persons with disabilities are unable to exercise legal capacity, their rights can be easily infringed. Often, persons with disabilities are involuntarily detained in mental health facilities or forced to undergo mental health treatment. Further, frequently, persons with disabilities are deprived of their property. Despite these infringements on their rights, persons with disabilities are unable to seek compensation or redress due to the restrictions placed on their legal capacity.